2013 Reading Challenge

Image

Happy 2013 Everyone!

Well obviously not everyone yet since it is only 1:12am here in Melbourne, Australia, but you all know what I mean.

I have 2 big resolutions for this year, not including the swear jar I already owe $2 to. The first is to read more, the second is to actually make a proper go of this blog.

Since it is a book related blog I thought I would set the reading challenge I created for myself here.

I had searched on the net for already created challenges that I could join in, I even asked my friends list on my personal blog for their suggestions, but none of the ones I came across seemed to fit what I wanted to read in the new year; no matter how amazingly fun they seemed.

So what else could I do but create my own!

If you would like to partake please do! I would love to have some reading challenge buddies! Any way here we go, I considered setting this out in the bingo style but I didn’t want to copy the book bingo challenge. There are 24 types of books to read and a bonus one so it is roughly 2 books a month which I think is rather plausible. In no particular order here is the challenge.

1.  Read a classic.
2.  Read a ‘banned‘ book.
3.  Re-read a book from your childhood.
4.  Re-read a book you read at school/university/college as required reading.
5.  Read a book that you have been meaning to but have never gotten around to reading.
6.  Read a biography of someone you don’t know or may only know a little about.
7.  Read a modern classic.
8.  Read a book in a genre you normally wouldn’t choose.
9.  Read a book that is based on or has been turned into a TV show.
10. Read a book that was adapted into a movie you have seen.
11. Read a book suggested to you by someone you know.
12. Read a book based ENTIRELY on the cover (You are not allowed to read the blurb/synopsis first).
13. Read a book that is not necessarily marketed for you (ie your age group/gender etc).
14. Read a book by an author you have never heard of/don’t particularly like.
15. Read a book that is not in a typical novel style (eg. a book of poetry, diary/letter based book, play, graphic novel).
16. Read a book by your favourite author.
17. Read a non-fiction book.
18. Read the first book in a series you have never read.
19. Read a book you gave up on reading in the past in the past.
20. Read a book from a foreign country (non American or English for me either).
21. Read a book (not necessarily a memoir/autobiographywritten by a famous personyou like (not normally authors).
22. Read a book to learn something new (a language, a country, recipes, crafts, event).
23. Read an bind-up, omnibus, anthology or a collection of short stories.
24. Re-read your favourite book of all time.
Bonus: Place a collection of book titles you own/want to read into a hat and draw one out at random. Read it.

I will be posting my progress as I go along, Hopefully I can knock one out today! I think I already have a couple picked out for the challenge. If anyone is confused by any of the book types above, I have included some links to lists of books. For #21 I will probably be reading Hollow Earth by John Barrowman and his sister Carole just to give people an idea of what I meant.

Good luck everyone

2 responses »

  1. This looks like a great challenge! I love that it features all sorts of different genres and reads. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you! I really needed to challenge myself with reading this year since I only read a couple of actual novels last year, which for a book nerd and someone who spent 6 years studying Literature based subjects at high school and University is shocking to me.

      Good luck with your challenge! I love the book bingo idea!

      Happy New Year!

      Reply

Leave a comment